



THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, TUESDAY, APRIL 30, 1940.

Resignation of Members of the Executive Council and of Ministers.

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

TIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation of—

- The Honourable Peter Fraser, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Prime Minister, Minister of Education, Minister of Health, and Minister of Marine;
- The Honourable Walter Nash, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Finance, Minister of Customs, Minister of Stamp Duties, and Minister of Marketing;
- The Honourable Daniel Giles Sullivan, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Industries and Commerce, and Minister of Railways;
- The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Attorney-General and Minister of Justice;
- The Honourable Hubert Thomas Armstrong, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of Immigration;
- The Honourable ROBERT SEMPLE, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Public Works and Minister of Transport;
- The Honourable William Edward Parry, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the office of Minister of Internal Affairs;
- The Honourable Patrick Charles Webb, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Labour and Minister of Mines;
- The Honourable Frederick Jones, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs, and Minister of Defence;
- The Honourable Frank Langstone, holding a seat in the Executive Council, and the offices of Minister of Lands, Minister of External Affairs, Native Minister, Commissioner of State Forests, and Minister for the Cook Islands; and
- The Honourable DAVID WILSON, holding a seat in the Executive Council.

(By command.)

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Members of the Executive Council appointed.

Executive Council Chamber, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has this day been pleased to appoint—

The Honourable Peter Fraser,

The Honourable WALTER NASH,

The Honourable Daniel Giles Sullivan,

The Honourable HENRY GREATHEAD REX MASON,

The Honourable HUBERT THOMAS ARMSTRONG,

The Honourable ROBERT SEMPLE,

The Honourable WILLIAM EDWARD PARRY,

The Honourable PATRICK CHARLES WEBB,

The Honourable Frederick Jones,

The Honourable Frank Langstone, and

The Honourable David Wilson,

to be members of the Executive Council of the Dominion of New Zealand; and the above-named gentlemen have taken the oath of office accordingly.

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Existing Member of Executive Council confirmed in that Office.

Executive Council Chamber, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to confirm—

The Honourable William Lee Martin as a member of the Executive Council.

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Ministers appointed.

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—

The Honourable Peter Fraser to be Prime Minister;

The Honourable Walter Nash to be Minister of Finance, Minister of Customs, Minister of Stamp Duties, and Minister of Marketing;

The Honourable Daniel Giles Sullivan to be Minister of Industries and Commerce, and Minister of Railways;

The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason to be Minister of Education, Attorney-General, and Minister of Justice;

The Honourable Hubert Thomas Armstrong, to be Minister of Health;

The Honourable Robert Semple to be Minister of Public Works, Minister of Transport, and Minister of Marine;

The Honourable WILLIAM EDWARD PARRY to be Minister of Internal Affairs;

The Honourable Patrick Charles Webb to be Minister of Labour, Minister of Mines, and Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs;

The Honourable Frederick Jones to be Minister of Defence;

The Honourable Frank Langstone to be Minister of Lands, Commissioner of State Forests, Minister of External Affairs, Native Minister, and Minister for the Cook Islands; and

The Honourable DAVID WILSON to be Minister of Immigration.

(By command.)

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Existing Minister confirmed in His Ministerial Office.

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

III IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to confirm in his present office—
The Honourable William Lee Martin as Minister of Agriculture.

(By command.)

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Minister of Social Security appointed.

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 30th April, 1940.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint—
The Minister of Internal Affairs

to be the Minister of the Crown to administer Part II of the Social Security Act, 1938.

(By command.)

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.